Assess for Success: Marketing Analytics and Measurement
Weekly challenge 1
1.
Question 1
How does a marketer set a performance goal for a marketing campaign?
1 / 1 point
Establish a target with a measurable, numeric value
Determine the ratio of revenue generated to the amount spent on advertising
Choose the appropriate media for the marketing budget
Confirm where, when, and how often an ad will appear across media channels
2.
Question 2
A marketer aims to increase a company’s yearly revenue. They create a marketing goal to increase the number of website visits. What is the connection between these two goals?
1 / 1 point
Both are numeric measurements that serve as performance targets for marketing campaigns.
A business goal is a specific target in a marketing strategy that supports the marketing goal.
A marketing goal is a specific objective in a marketing plan that supports the overall business goal.
Both are measurements used to determine how successful a business is at increasing sales.
3.
Question 3
What is the formula for the return on ad spend (ROAS)?
0 / 1 point
(total revenue x ad spend) / number of units sold
(ad spend x cost per unit) / number of ad clicks
(number of units sold x ad spend) / cost per unit
(number of units sold x cost per unit) / ad spend
4.
Question 4
When creating a media plan, you should consider the budget. Why is this important?
1 / 1 point
It indicates how much revenue the campaign will generate.
It determines how much you can spend and on which channels.
It measures how well the campaign will reach the targeted performance.
It identifies the marketing and business goals.
5.
Question 5
As a marketer, you are working on a digital ad campaign for a new product. You learn that advertising costs $320 to sell 15 units of a $210 product. What is the campaign’s return on ad spend (ROAS)?
1 / 1 point
(210 x 210) / 15 = 2940
(15 x 210) / 320 = 9.8
(15 x 15) / 320 = 0.7
(15 x 320) / 210 = 22.8
6.
Question 6
Consider the following scenario:
Imagine that you want to learn which of two direct response pages performs better based on the number of clicks. You set up a test that randomly directs half of the web traffic to one page, and half to the other. After a set time period, you tally the total clicks on each page.
What is this test called?
1 / 1 point
A/B test
Performance test
Direct response test
50-50 test
7.
Question 7
A marketer uses attribution to assign credit to micro conversions in the customer journey. What are micro conversions?
1 / 1 point
A completed response that indicates a potential customer is moving toward a macro conversion
A real-time display of current user activity on a website and social media
A completed response that indicates a potential customer is not going to make a purchase
A completed purchase transaction within the first month of entering the marketing funnel
8.
Question 8
A marketer uses detailed data to gain insights and quickly respond to events. Which big data trend allows them to do this?
1 / 1 point
Multi-channel marketing analytics
Real-time analytics
Predictive analytics
Autonomous marketing
9.
Question 9
Which of the following can you use to set your cost per acquisition (CPA) performance goal? Select all that apply.
1 / 1 point
The total cost per click
The industry-average CPA value from a relevant industry
PPC campaigns budget’s that are the highest priority
The average CPA based on comparative data from historical campaigns
10.
Question 10
When creating a media plan, why should you identify the media mix?
1 / 1 point
To spend the limited campaign budget on the people most likely to make a purchase.
It allows you to consistently measure the performance and success of each media channel.
It documents how you will measure campaign success for each media channel.
It enables the right content selection on an allocated budget for any media channel.
Weekly challenge 2
1.
Question 1
A marketer uses Google Analytics to monitor campaign metrics. When setting up, certain events are automatically enabled to collect information. What information does the events feature collect?
1 / 1 point
When a user clicks a link to a file and views search results information
Page views, when a page loads, and file download information
Share, add to cart, and purchase information
Basic user properties, actions a user takes, and session information
2.
Question 2
Consider the following scenario:
Imagine a marketer sets up a Google Analytics 4 property to collect information about a brand’s website. Next, they set up events to track user behavior on the site.
Which of the following are examples of events they can track?
0 / 1 point
A user deciding whether or not to add an item to their cart.
A user finding the brand’s website in search engine results.
A user navigating to a close competitor’s website.
A user engaging with the website.
3.
Question 3
Imagine that a marketer wants to use Google Analytics to monitor email traffic and learn how much of that email traffic came from the campaign of interest. To do that, they add tags to the URLs shared in emails and configure dimensions for these tags to monitor what? Select all that apply.
1 / 1 point
utm_medium tag
add_to_cart tag
page_view tag
utm_campaign tag
4.
Question 4
A digital marketer uses a Google Analytics template to visualize the steps users take toward a conversion. What technique does this describe?
1 / 1 point
Path exploration
Cohort exploration
Funnel exploration
Free-form exploration
5.
Question 5
A marketer calculates the number of times potential customers view an ad in a campaign at the awareness stage of the marketing funnel. What metric did they use?
1 / 1 point
Click through rate
Impressions
Clicks
Conversion rate
6.
Question 6
In Google Ads, what does an ad group contain?
1 / 1 point
One primary goal that supports a Google Ads campaign
One or more metrics that are tracked through the stages of the marketing funnel
One or more payment methods for customers in different countries
One or more ads that target a shared set of keywords
7.
Question 7
A marketer links a Google Ads account to Google Analytics. They learn which audience to spend more budget on in future campaigns. How does linking the accounts enable this insight?
0 / 1 point
It compares the difference in attribution between the cross-channel last click and ads preferred-model.
It allows them to view data in Google Analytics, so they don’t have to switch back and forth between platforms.
It enables a complete view of the marketing funnel in one place, from awareness to conversion.
It combines the conversion data from Google Ads with the audience demographics in Google Analytics.
8.
Question 8
Fill in the blank: A cross-channel last click attribution model attributes 100% of a conversion to _____.
1 / 1 point
the last device that a customer used to view an ad
the first channel that a customer engaged with
the first Google Ads channel that a customer engaged with
the last Google Ads channel clicked through
9.
Question 9
A marketer exports data from Google Ads and Google Analytics. What does this enable them to do?
1 / 1 point
Use campaign data in isolation from previous campaign data
Ensure that the data columns include all the data they want to export
Create an archive of data from past campaigns for analysis and comparison
Exclude all exported data from any future analysis
10.
Question 10
Which of the following statements best describes Google Tag Manager? Select all that apply.
1 / 1 point
It can work with any HTML or JavaScript-based tags.
It has a graphical interface for the deployment of tags.
It can deploy tags for Google Analytics only.
It requires that users have skills in Python programming.
Weekly challenge 3
1.
Question 1
A marketer makes the following marketing calculation:
First they subtract the marketing costs from the total sales growth during a campaign period. Then, the marketer takes that result and divides it by the total marketing cost.
When would they use this calculation?
0 / 1 point
To identify the revenue generated compared to the amount spent on advertising
To determine the average revenue generated per customer over a certain period
To learn how many customers abandoned their shopping carts
To measure the profit generated from a marketing campaign
2.
Question 2
Which of the following is true about return on ad spend (ROAS)? Select all that apply.
1 / 1 point
Measuring ROAS helps you evaluate the performance and success of a campaign.
Per channel ROAS results contribute to the overall ROAS across all media.
ROAS is the ratio of net income, or money made, to investment, or money spent.
Fluctuations in the marketplace do not affect the ROAS.
3.
Question 3
Fill in the blank: When preparing for _____, it is helpful to document past performance and desired improvement.
0 / 1 point
A/B tests
budget forecasting
marketing assessments
metric analysis
4.
Question 4
A digital marketer uses software tools to perform A/B tests. Which of the following does this enable them to do?
1 / 1 point
Test email messages but not landing pages
Test for a variety of touch points in the customer journey
Create generic web pages with machine learning
Identify what content the company wants to share with visitors
5.
Question 5
Which is a positive outcome of conducting A/B tests?
1 / 1 point
Reduced ad spend by minimizing return on investment
Added online applications that determine the best software variants
Increased web traffic that generates leads and guarantees repeat customers
Improved customer experiences through redesigned web pages that have been tested
6.
Question 6
What does an ad variation test changes to? Select all that apply.
1 / 1 point
Call to action
URL
Headline
7.
Question 7
Consider the following scenario:
A digital marketer needs to set up a test for changing a current headline. To start, they navigate to the Campaigns page in Google Ads. They select the option All campaigns, and then they click on Experiments in the navigation panel. Next, they create the new headline: “Buy Today.” They choose a 30-day run and use the default 50% split for the test. Now their test is ready.
What type of A/B test did they set up?
1 / 1 point
Ad variation
Headline bid
Macro conversion
Campaign efficacy
8.
Question 8
Consider the following scenario:
A digital marketer is reviewing the results from an A/B ad variation test of a proposed headline. As they review the ad variations table, they notice that many metrics have blue stars next to them.
What action should the digital marketer take based on these results?
1 / 1 point
Run the ad variation test again and compare results.
Test a different headline in another ad variation.
Make the new headline variation a permanent ad change.
Default back to the original headline.
9.
Question 9
Consider the following scenario:
A digital marketer finished running a marketing campaign. It is now time to assess if it was successful or not.
What will the digital marketer need to evaluate to determine if the campaign was a success?
1 / 1 point
If it improved the company’s ranking among competitors
Whether or not it met the company’s performance goals
If it increased job creation and retention
Whether or not it stayed within the company’s budget
10.
Question 10
A digital marketer’s campaign set a micro performance goal of increasing email signups by 40% and increasing purchases by 15%. The campaign increased email signups by 40%, as planned. However, the campaign did not increase the number of purchases.
What action should the digital marketer consider for a future campaign?
1 / 1 point
Set a different micro conversion goal that does not involve email signups
Create a new performance goal for increasing leads
Measure leads as macro conversions instead of micro conversions
Review and modify email messages to increase conversions
Weekly challenge 4
1.
Question 1
Which of the following are important to understand when interacting with a stakeholder about a project? Select all that apply.
1 / 1 point
What the stakeholder thinks about project team members on the project
Which communication methods a stakeholder prefers
When to communicate with a stakeholder
The stakeholder’s interest in the project and what their needs are
2.
Question 2
How do marketers and stakeholders work together?
1 / 1 point
Stakeholders have access to data that marketers do not. Marketers receive data from stakeholders to create campaigns.
Marketers access data to create campaigns. Stakeholders advise on creative assets.
Stakeholders set goals and KPIs for a campaign. Marketers fund campaigns to reach the goals.
Marketers summarize campaign data and inform stakeholders of a campaign’s progress. Stakeholders fund campaigns and have an interest in their success.
3.
Question 3
A marketer uses the filter function in a spreadsheet to display data according to specific criteria. What additional filter option can they use?
0 / 1 point
Filter by data patterns and relationships within data sets
Filter by formulas and calculated values
Filter by exact values or highlighted colors in cells
Filter by user comments in multiple sheets
4.
Question 4
What are the three main fields used to categorize data in a pivot table?
1 / 1 point
Filter, Units, Rows
Display, Columns, Filter
Rows, Columns, Values
Function, Name, Menu
5.
Question 5
Fill in the blank: A benefit of _____ is that you can easily copy and paste them into slides when you need to share data insights with others.
1 / 1 point
campaign assets
vertical columns
spreadsheet charts
marketing plans
6.
Question 6
A marketer uses a graph to compare the revenue generated from five campaigns. The chart displays each campaign as a percentage of a whole. What type of chart did the marketer use?
1 / 1 point
Pie chart
Histogram
Bar chart
Line chart
7.
Question 7
A business hires someone to analyze data and create and monitor marketing campaigns. What is this role known as?
0 / 1 point
Data analyst
Data specialist role
Marketing coordinator role
Hybrid role
8.
Question 8
A marketing team member queries databases, applies statistical methods to data, and creates data visualizations. What role does this describe?
1 / 1 point
Office manager
Stakeholder
Data analyst
Copywriter
9.
Question 9
Which of the following is a visual analytics platform that makes it easier to explore and manage data, and to create custom dashboards that incorporate different data visualizations in one place?
1 / 1 point
Google Sheets
Microsoft Office
Tableau
PowerPoint
10.
Question 10
Which of the following is a best practice when creating slides for a presentation?
1 / 1 point
End the presentation with the most surprising insight
Include all data you collected
Progress from general to specific topics
Use generic titles for data visualizations